Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss

Today is Dr. Seuss’ birthday.  And most classrooms around the states [if not the world] might be celebrating that event, including my son’s class.  They are going to see The Lorax as a field trip and then having lunch at a park.

I’ve decided that I no longer want to be a grown up but want to be a child instead.  How come they get to have all the fun?

Well, MOST of the fun.  I did have my own version of fun last night in celebrating Dr. Seuss’ special day.   I got the chance to let my inner craft geek come out.  I made some goodies for my son to take in and share with his class at snack time.

I made … drumroll please … Cat in the Hat lollipops.  The original idea came from … you guessed it … Pinterest!!  I fell in love with the image and decided I wanted to make my own … so I did 🙂

Here’s what you will need:

*Note* – I was supposed to use lollipop sticks but my Super Target did not have any.  So, I improvised and just used popsicle sticks. 

Anyhoo, as I was saying, you will need lollipop sticks, large marshmallows, and red fruit roll ups.  I also used some white marshmallow fondant that I had left over from this event.  That’s all you need!

First, slide 3 marshmallows onto the stick.

Then, using a pizza cutter slice up your fruit roll ups into strips.

Next, wrap one strip at a time around the marshmallows [one in each crease, one at the bottom, one at the top].

Ok, so confession time.  The original idea said to make a circle as well and put it on the top of the first marshmallow … but I was afraid I had not bought enough fruit roll ups to waste any.  At the end I actually had some left over but was too tired to go back and add that step … so when you make yours … DO the circle.  It would look better!!

Now, the original idea also called to flatten out marshmallows and roll them in sugar and use that as the brim of the hat.  But I needed to use up my leftover fondant so I just rolled that out, used a medicine cup to cut out the right size circles, and slid them up from the bottom.

And that’s it!  I was done! 

It was so easy and actually yummy … er, not that I actually tasted one or anything, I mean, they ARE for the kids … ok, ok, so maybe I did eat one!  But don’t all bakers taste as they go?  Or is it just me??

I may be hooking up to any or all of these parties this week:

BWS tips button The Stuff of Success Somewhat Simple

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss

  1. Growing old is obligatory, growing up is optional 😀

  2. Too bad a kid dumped some of them on the ground. 😦
    But they looked good. Awesome job!

  3. HI Tammie! We would love for you to add a link to this post back to us for our original idea….http://kitchenfunwithmy3sons.blogspot.com/2012/02/dr-seuss-hat-pops.html Could not find your email…Thanks!

Comments make me happy! Go ahead, make my day :)

Blog at WordPress.com.

