Full or Hollow?

What type of Easter Egg Candy do you prefer??  Caramel.  Marshmallow.  Fudge.

Me, I prefer hollow chocolate.  I know, to some people biting into a hollow easter egg would prove to be very disappointing.  But for me hollow eggs are a welcome treat.

First, there is the issue that hollow eggs provide “anger management” of sorts.  Ha!  I get to take out my frustrations by pounding that egg into tiny pieces and then I get to enjoy bliss by eating up all those pieces.  Don’t judge.  I know I’m not alone in this 🙂

But also, when I bite into a hollow chocolate egg I am really reminded of what Easter is all about.  Instead of being disappointed in the vast open space inside my chocolate, I am actually reminded of Mary and her friends looking for Jesus in his tomb … only his body wasn’t there … the tomb was HOLLOW!!

Cha-ching!  Get it!  🙂

Today I want to show you how to make hollow chocolate Easter eggs as a fun-time craft with your kids.

What you will need:  a heavy sauce pan, a rubber spatula, melting chocolate, vegetable oil, scotch tape, paintbrush, and some plastic Easter eggs.

First step, place scotch tape over the holes in the Easter eggs.  Don’t want all that yummy chocolate to escape.

Yes, peeps, that IS an M&M Tape Dispenser.  Don’t blame me, it’s a husband thing.

Then, LIGHTLY oil the inside of the CLEAN Easter eggs.

You don’t want to use too much as the chocolate won’t stick AND the taste might be tainted a bit.

Next up, melt the chocolate over low heat in the heavy sauce pan.  Use a rubber spatula to scrape the sides and stir it up as it melts.

**Note** Be sure your pot and spatula are DRY peeps.  If you allow any drops of water to land in the melting chocolate it will ‘seize’ and be ruined.  Not that I would know that by experience or anything.  Just saying 🙂

Once the chocolate is melted and smooth, using a spoon, put some melted chocolate into each part of the plastic egg.

Now ‘paint’ the chocolate up the sides of the eggs.  There should be a ‘pool’ of chocolate left in the bottom of each part of the egg.  That’s exactly what you want!

Snap the egg together and gently turn and rotate the egg until, by holding it up to light, it appears that every part of the egg is covered with the chocolate.

Put in the freezer for 30 minutes.

When time is up, GENTLY and VERY GENTLY twist around and around at the seam.

The plastic eggs will eventually slip off the chocolate leaving behind a nice, purty hollow chocolate egg.

Wrap in plastic wrap and store in the fridge until ready to share.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Full or Hollow?

  1. That is so cool! I want to try. You’re the coolest of the cool. Xoxo

Comments make me happy! Go ahead, make my day :)

Blog at WordPress.com.

