Chocolate Sunflower Cake

Yes, my friends, Easter has come and gone.  However, if your house is like mine, some remnants of the holiday still linger on in the form of a big bowl of sugary awesomeness sitting proudly on your counter top.  Or, in all actuality, maybe it’s really a big bowl of diabetes in the making?  Whatever it is you decide to call it … it’s time to call it quits and get the stuff gone!!

Enter, Dana.  My amazing, terrific, and very much pregnant cousin.  [Hello there Dana].

Recently Dana sent me a picture of an incredible cake she had made for Easter.  I absolutely thought it was the cutest thing I had ever seen and so I have decided to share her awesomeness with all of you.

For lack of working brain cells this week, let’s just call it Chocolate Sunflower Cake [with an extra special hidden surprise!].  Brilliant title I know.  To steal a quote from a friend [thanks Mrs. H], “Makes you wonder why you follow this blog, huh?”  🙂

Now, friends, tell me this — what can be better than diving into a big piece of chocolate cake with a cool glass of milk on the side?

I’ll tell you what’s better … being able to use up those yellow chicky peeps that we all have laying all over the house since Easter!  Get ’em gone!!

Ingredients:
1 Box Chocolate Cake Mix
1 Can Chocolate Frosting
1 Bag Mini Chocolate Chips
1 Package of Yellow Chicky Peeps

… and for the hidden surprise … raw cookie dough (made with no eggs of course! Recipe found here.)
Genious idea Dana!  Leave it to her to come up with this awesome idea!
However, I am not surprised. I mean, what pregnant mama doesn’t crave cookie dough from time to time!?  Ha!

Directions:
Bake the cake mix according to the directions.
Use two round cake pans.
Let the cakes cool completely.
Place your base cake on your serving plate.
Spread your raw cookie dough over the top of the base layer.
Put the other layer on top of the cookie dough.
Frost the whole cake.
Now, arrange your chicky peeps in a circle along the edge of the cake.
Fill in the middle with mini chocolate chips.

Seriously! How easy was that! And so adorable.
Thanks Dana for sharing this with us. I so can’t wait to try this out!!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Sunflower Cake

  1. Looks peeping awesome! So where is my cake? Why have you not made it yet? Huh? Huh? My glass of milk is getting warm! I’mmmmmmm waiting! 🙂

  2. handmadebymrsh

    Urm, I think you’ll find that chocolate is not just for Easter….it’s for ALL DAYS! Also, once again I wish we lived next door to each other…that cake would be half gone by the time you were able to take a photo! 😀 xx

    • Chocolate is my friend … chocolate is my friend 🙂 Maybe if I say it often enough I’ll forget how many calories it has!

  3. handmadebymrsh

    Oh, it lost my comment. It was something about chocolate being for all days, not just Easter, and that I want to live next door to you. The rest was just fluff 😀

Comments make me happy! Go ahead, make my day :)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

