Puzzled on How to be a Pen Pal

Not too long ago two of my besties moved … BOTH besties … at the same time … to two different far away lands … aagghh. To make it worse, they actually took her children with them. Imagine that πŸ™‚ Yep, took their children with them leaving behind my very sad little boy [insert pouty face here].

After hearing more than once about his pals moving, and after watching the excitement on his face as he reads his one bud’s blog, I decided that it was time for a solution. Mom to the rescue!

Mom: “No biggie about your buds leaving, just become pen pals!”

Son: “What’s a pen pal?”

Mom: “What? Are you kidding me? [mom mumbles under breath] What is wrong with kids today”

So, we began the lesson on what being a pen pal means. And because he’s a boy and thinks “that sounds lame” I had to come up with a cool and fun way of doing this. Enter Pinterest.

Pinterest? Are you surprised? If you know me, you shouldn’t be!! Ha!

So best buddies in two far away lands, and those of you looking for fun ways to write letters, this is what we came up with …

Step 1:

Step 2:

Step 3:

Yes, you see the words “fart fruit” on my son’s letter. Those who know my friends know what that means. It’s a boy thing … it’s a foreign country thing … you have to be there πŸ™‚

Of course, if you don’t have a silhouette you could just take a real puzzle and trace the pieces with light pencil and then cut it out by hand. That works too!!

There you have it my friends! Once your letter is all puzzled up into pieces just slide all the pieces into an envelope and mail that puppy off. Of course, I expect emails from the best bud mommy’s soon with not so many nice words because they get stuck putting the puzzle together .. tee hee. Maybe that’s my way of payback for leaving me behind πŸ™‚

Linking up here this week:
BWS tips button The Stuff of Success Somewhat Simple > The Stuff of Success

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Puzzled on How to be a Pen Pal

  1. Britney

    How dare they leave you! Just who are you talking about, I will give them a stern talking to about this πŸ˜‰ This is a great idea! LOVE IT. I of course will be expecting one in our mail box soon. Tell Ronnie, we will be waiting. Preston will love it too.

    • How ever did you know it was you πŸ™‚ You’re so smart!! Yep, be watching your mailbox!!

  2. This is so funny! Kids these days are so not interested in our simple, old fashion ideas. Writing a letter and then just sending it in the mail … Lame πŸ™‚ I like the fun idea you came up with though.

    • Thanks! I always have to remind myself that my kids just don’t get me … think outside the box mommy πŸ™‚

  3. cc huergo

    that is cool please sent it o us so we can join you too!

  4. What a great idea! I’m going to see if I have anything like this for my Cricut. I am sure my daughters would love doing this.

    • Oh, I’m sure the cricut has a puzzle option. They are very similar! Isn’t is amazing what all we find to use our miracle machines for πŸ™‚

  5. Awesome idea!! Thanks so much for linking up to my Sunday FUNday party!! I appreciate it!

    • Bet cha didn’t know it’s yer kin that I’m sendig it too πŸ™‚ Gotta show some love to those in s’pore!

Comments make me happy! Go ahead, make my day :)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

