Ignorance is NOT Always Bliss.

Recently my family and I have been watching a series of videos entitled
“The American Heritage Series” by David Barton.

Now, friends, let me just tell you this:  These videos are not filled with the same pieces of history that we already learned in school.  Or at least I have never learned this stuff in MY school.  These videos are filled with the little nuggets of truth that seem to have been taken out of textbooks in the early 1900’s never to be heard about again.

One thing I find very interesting is that whenever you read or hear about our nation not being founded on Christian principles, those speaking usually only quote from a handful of names.  But, uh, hello.  That handful of names is not an all inclusive list of “founding fathers”.  I mean, how would you define “founding”?

To me a founding father should be ANY man who had intrigal and important role in the development of our country’s government.  I mean, just taking the men who signed the Declaration of Indpendence, the men who framed the United States Constituion, as well as those who fought for the Bill of Rights … well you have over 100 men right there that should be included and considered.  And what I am finding is that an overwhelming majority of those men ARE Christians.

For example:

John_Witherspoon3

John Witherspoon signed the Declaration of Independence and was also a minister of his church.

francis-hopkinson-1-sized

Francis Hopkinson was the choir director of his church when he signed the Declaration and he also went on to edit a famous American hymn book.

220px-CharlesThomson

Besides signing the first copy of the Declaration of Independence, Charles Thomson is also credited with the final design of the Great Seal of the United States.  And, because he was a believer, he spent his final years (19 of them actually) writing a translation of the Bible that was the first English translation of the Septuagint published in America.

250px-John_Jay_Gilbert_Stuart_portrait-1

And what about John Jay, appointed Chief Justice to the Supreme Court by George Washington.  While he did not actually sign the Declaration nor the Constitution, he was instrumental in seeing that it passed.  In fact, he wrote 5 of the famous Federalist papers that were to persuade voters to ratify the proposed constitution.  While all this was going on he attended Trinity Church of New York and even held the title of warden (or elder).  He believed that the best way for world peace was by preaching the Christian gospel.  He has been quoted as saying in a letter to John Murray, “Real Christians will abstain from violating the rights of others, and therefore will not provoke war. Almost all nations have peace or war at the will and pleasure of rulers whom they do not elect, and who are not always wise or virtuous. Providence has given to our people the choice of their rulers, and it is the duty, as well as the privilege and interest, of our Christian nation to select and prefer Christians for their rulers.”

[Hmmm, maybe we need to think hard about his quote at election time this year!]

220px-Benjamin_Rush_Painting_by_Peale

And that my friends is just a small handful of names, most I bet you’ve never heard of?  I could go on – and on – and on … in fact, I will with one last name … Benjamin Rush!!  I must say I had never heard of him either … ever.  Which totally surprised me because upon his death it is reported that the remaining founding fathers actually said he was one of the top 3 men that should take huge credit with the founding our our country (George Washington and Benjamin Franklin being the others).  What??  Someone that big a part of history not being listed in the history books?  I dug further.

I found out that he not only signed the Declaration of Independence but also attented the Continental Congress and served as Surgeon General.  He also was instrumental in the foundation of today’s psyciatric care and is considered the Father of American Psychiatry.  He was instrumental in the establishment of public schools, founded 5 colleges, and personally trained thousands of medical students.

Why was he removed from our history books?  Perhaps besides being prominent in the framing of our nation’s foundations he was also a very outspoken Christian.  He was the founder of America’s first Bible Society, he started what we call Sunday School today, and he believed the U.S. government should require public schools to teach students using the Bible as a textbook.  He also believed, fought for, and lost the fight that the government should furnish an American bible to every family at public expense.

All that and yet, he’s not taught today.  Hmmm ….

**************************************************************************************

You know, what these videos are shedding light on for me is the truth in that old saying, “the pen is mightier than the sword.”  What started with just a handful of men in the early 1900’s deciding on what THEY think should be in history textbooks has now over time become the accepted concept of our nation’s history.  And if you go against status quo, then YOU are wrong and not the textbooks.  We don’t question the textbooks because we’ve never really taken the time to learn things for ourselves.  We are blindly led away because of our laziness.

Not me.  Well, not any longer at least.  My thirst for history – mixed with my heart of American pride – driven by my deep love for Christ, has given me a desire to learn the truth.  I’m starting to search out and read from the early textbooks … from the early letters and documents of the acutal founding fathers.  And as I learn about our American history I will share what I find with you, my friends 🙂  I will only share with you what I can link back references for.  Just the facts ma’am.  Only the facts.

Who knows, maybe we can learn together all sorts of fascinating stuff about The United States of Ameria, One Nation UNDER GOD.

Next Post up will be about President George Washington.  Seems he and his faith have been a bit of a debate issue lately.  Oh, hey, interesting tid-bit about him too – according to Ancestry.com he just happens to be my cousin … can I get a “Say What?!”  🙂

**************************************************************************************

Websites that I find useful:

Wall Builder’s (David Barton)

Online Library of Liberty

The American Presidency Project

Journals of the Continental Congress

The Federalist Papers

Scanned Copies of Original Charles Thompson Articles

Text Wording of Charles Thompson Translation

Bibles of Colonial America

Charles Thompson Biography

US History on Benjamin Rush

Books that I am Using for Research

The Life of John Jay by William Jay (1833)

Benjamin Rush: Patriot and Physician (2004)

Benjamin Rush: Signer of the Declaration of Independence (1999)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Ignorance is NOT Always Bliss.

  1. Dana

    Great post! This is the kind of stuff I want to teach my kids during school.

  2. Marilyn

    I am glad that we are viewing these dvds. It is very interesting. Good blog, Tammie.

Comments make me happy! Go ahead, make my day :)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

