Make Ahead BBQ Pork

Today’s post is nothing new and exciting.  I’m sure it won’t change the world or your life for that matter 🙂 And, truthfully, I’m sure there are thousands of posts that have ventured out and done the very same thing.  But for me, this recipe was miraculous and I just had to share.  I got the original idea from this blog.

Let me set the stage.  There are some nights during the week that I walk in the door after work … and literally have to cook/eat/change and walk out the door again in 30 minutes.  For a long time now the go-to for my family has been fast food drive-thru.  NOT healthy and NOT good on the wallet.  So I had to come up with solutions.

Enter Pinterest and freezer meals!!

A few weeks back I spent 5 hours in the kitchen preparing meals and freezing them for use when I needed them most.  I hated it that day but man-oh-man has it paid off now.  This BBQ Pork thing today is one of those meals.

What you will need:


One pork roast


One bottle of root beer


BBQ Sauce

That’s it!!  Only 3 Ingredients People!!  How awesome is that??!!

Directions:

Put the pork roast in the crockpot.

Add 1/2 the bottle of rootbeer. I suppose you could use the whole bottle but I’m not a big root beer person so I didn’t want to over-do it with the taste.

Put in enough water until the roast is covered.

Unfortunately, I can’t tell you if I cooked this on low or high. I had three crockpots going at one time this particular day and so this small pork roast ended up in the one crock pot that only had “on/off” for settings. I cooked this “on” for 4 hours 🙂

Remove from crock pot, cut into slices, then using two forks, pull the slices apart and shred the pork.

Dump all the shredded pork into a freezer bag. Add bbq sauce. The amount equals whatever your taste prefers. Shake that baby up and move the stuff all around in the bag.

Freeze.

Then, when you know you will be on a time crunch take out the freezer bag of yumminess and let it thaw in the fridge. When you get home stressed and freaking out just dump the bbq pork into a bowl. Nuke this baby for 30 seconds. Stir. Nuke. Stir. When heated through to your liking slap this stuff onto hamburger buns. Add some veggie chips on the side and voila! Dinner is done and ready in less than 3 minutes.

Not exactly chef worthy or life altering … but for sure healtheir than “Uncle Donald’s” (what my son used to call the local fast food place).

How about you? Do any of you have ideas for how to feed families FAST??

Linking up to these FUN parties this week:
BWS tips button The Stuff of Success Somewhat Simple >

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Make Ahead BBQ Pork

  1. WonkyWonderful

    I’ve heard of using rootbeer in bbq, but I have never tried it. I’m sure it is tasty – I need to do this next time I’m making pork. Sounds Yummy 🙂

    • I’m not a rootbeer fan myself but I must admit it did give it a good flavor. It’s now my go-to for pork 🙂

  2. I’ll have to try this one next time. I blogged one with BBQ sauce, pork and a can of pineapple the other day…root beer sounds interesting. Thanks for the idea!

Comments make me happy! Go ahead, make my day :)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

