Grandma’s Chicken and Dumplings

We all know that I am trying to lose weight.  Part of losing weight is to eat healthy.

And for reals my friends … I am doing just that!!  If you follow me on My Fitness Pal you’ll see I usually stay under my calories daily.  And it’s working!!  For proof just check out my sidebar over there >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I’m down 2 pounds friends!!  Woot Woot!

But every now and then you just need some comfort food.  Something to just wash the stress of the world off your back and make you happy for a minute.  For me that is the family tradition of Chicken and Dumplings.  Hey, what else do you expect from a family born and bred in Southern USA??

The recipe I’m sharing with you today is an old one.  FOUR generations old to be exact.  It’s nothing fancy or even new fangled.  It’s just a tried and true yummy taste of the old south.  It’s Grandma Gardner’s Chicken and Dumplings … and here, my friends, is how we do it down south:

Photobucket

Ingredients:
1 Whole Roasting Chicken
2 Chicken Bouillon Cubes
1 Can Cream of Chicken Soup
4 Cups All Purpose Flour
4 Teaspoons Baking Powder
2 Teaspoons Salt
2/3 Cup Butter Flavor Crisco
1 Cup Milk

Directions:
Cook whole roasting chicken in a crockpot on high for 4-5 hours.

While the chicken is cooking make the dumplings.  Pour the flour, the baking powder, and the salt into a large bowl. Cut the crisco into the flour mixture …

STOP.  Say what??  Cut in the Crisco?  How to you cut crisco??  It’s all soft and mushy!!  Those were my very same words as a young gal of 21 on my first attempt at dumplings.  Well my friends, according to grandma, simply take two butter knives and criss-cross them like an “X”.  Now slice the mixture over and over again until it’s all mixed up.

To that I say Blech.  Too much work for me.  The lazy man’s way – which really mean’s Tammie’s way – is to use this gadget courtesy of Pampered Chef. Works like a charm!

Pastry Blender by Pampered Chef

Cool gadget can be bought
at my friend Erin’s website!!
Just click on this picture!!

Now add the milk and mix by hand.  Trust me, works best mixing by hand.  Just be sure they are clean 🙂

Roll out the dumplings onto a floured surface using a small ball of dough at a time.  Using a pizza cutter slice a grid pattern in the dumplings and then lay the “squares” onto a plate.  Once all your dumplings are cut and on the plate … put the plate of dumplings in the freezer.  Why?  I have no idea.  But Grandma said to do it so that is what I do.  In the south we are taught to listen to our elders!!

Once the chicken is fully cooked pull all the chicken off the bones and put it into a large stock pot. Add the one can of chicken broth, the 2 bouillon cubes, and the 1 can of cream of chicken soup. Then fill the stock pot with water until it is 2/3 full.  Stir it all up real good like.

Bring the stock pot to a full rolling boil. Turn the temperature down to low and start dropping the frozen dumplings in the pot one at a time.  Once all the dumplings are in, gently stir the whole pot so that everything gets covered with broth.  Cover and let simmer for one hour … stirring the pot every 5-10 minutes during that hour.

When the hour is up … EAT!  RELAX!  and BE HAPPY!

That my friends, is how my great-grandma made her Chicken and Dumplings.  And that is how we are still making them FOUR generations later.

I’ll be linking up this recipe to all the fun parties found in my linky page up there ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ at the top of my blog!!

What about you?  Do you have a family recipe tradition?  I’d love to hear about it [or even see the link if it’s been blogged!]

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Grandma’s Chicken and Dumplings

  1. Sounds delish!! Yes, I agree!! Sometimes comfort food is a must!! Keeps me sane and on my “diet” even tho that doesn’t seem to make sense when written out 🙂

    • It makes great sense to me! If we don’t allow ourselves a cheat every now and then … well, then we won’t stick to it! In fact, I’m seriously leaning toward trying your Totina’s Folded Pizza thing for lunch this week. Sounds really awesome and I think about it alot actually … I know, I’m sick to daydream about pizza 🙂

Comments make me happy! Go ahead, make my day :)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

