#neverforget

With today being the 11th year anniversary of 9/11 it seems that most all the blogs I follow have some sort of tribute … some sort of way of saying “We Remember”.

And we do remember.  We will never forget.

It seems that unfortunately every generation has their “Where were you?” moment … the Kennedy assassination, the Challenger explosion, the Berlin Wall coming down … and this is our generations I will never forget moment … the 9/11 attacks.

“Where were you when the world stopped turning?”

I was working.  No access to a TV.  I knew nothing going on until my husband, who was home recovering from surgery, called me frantic.  Once I understood what he was saying I turned on the radio and then stood there speechless.  I don’t recall getting ANY work done that day.  Just mesmerized by the radio and what I was hearing play over and over again.  I can’t even imagine the images that those with televisions were experiencing right as they happened.

In one breath I would mutter how could people be so evil?

In the next breath I would rejoice and cheer at how people could be so brave as those on Flight 93.

Regardless of our political stances that day … regardless of our denominations of faith … we were Americans and that was all that mattered.  We became united and put each other before ourselves.

Remember the long lines just to donate blood??  The firefighters and police officers across the country pouring in to NYC to help??

We were Americans that day … first and foremost just Americans.

So, instead of re-inventing the wheel … and re-stating everything that has already been said by bloggers way better at writing than I am … I thought I would share two videos that touched me today as I surfed my favorite blogs.

The first one was posted on the blog of Becky Higgins Clark.  My favorite scrapper who just puts the world to shame with her creative juices.  She is amazing!!

**WARNING**WARNING**

As you watch this video have an entire box of Kleenex ready!  Seriously, I am so not joking.  And you might want to get your make-up bag ready because when it’s done you won’t have any eye make-up left!!

This next video is an oldie but a goodie.  I had forgotten about this song until my gal-pal Kristine at The Foley Family Unedited posted it.  We’ll close with this one today.  And let me just say that if your heart does not swell with American Pride after viewing this … and if you don’t find yourself wanting to run out and hug the first soldier that you see … well, then you need to see a doctor friend because your heart has turned to stone!!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “#neverforget

  1. Great blog article today!!!

  2. FryeStyle

    Thanks for sharing these videos! Great post.

  3. I agree! This was our “moment” like you stated above. That song gets me every.single.time. THANK YOU for the link back 🙂 XOXOXO

Comments make me happy! Go ahead, make my day :)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

